Colin Goodnight Awards


Colin Goodnight Technology Awards

Educators from the Batesville Community School Corp., Oldenburg Academy and St. Louis School gathered Jan. 3 in the Batesville High School auditorium for the presentation of the Colin Goodnight Technology Awards.

Sponsored by the CREATE (Committee to Review, Evaluate and Aid Technology in Education) Foundation, the awards were established to promote and encourage educational excellence by recognizing exceptional classroom teachers and projects. They are named for the late Colin Goodnight, who was an active member and key leader of CREATE.

Nominees for the Technology Project of the Year included Aaron Garrett, Batesville Middle School eighth-grade teacher, for 1776 Webquest; Jerilyn Lowery, Batesville High School English teacher, Odyssey Video Project; Jonathon Maple, OA business teacher, Maverick Challenge; Andi McKee, SLS first-grade teacher, Shapes Around our World; Karen Salvitti, BMS sixth-grade teacher, Whale Glogster; and Brandy Westrick, Batesville Intermediate School special education teacher, Writerís Under Construction.

The winners were Westrick, first place; McKee, second place; and Garrett, third place.

Technology Education of the Year nominees were Ashley Boyce, Batesville Primary School first-grade teacher; Lindsey Huster, BPS second-grade   teacher; Karen Kaiser, BIS fourth-grade teacher; Deidre Laker, BHS English teacher; Jenny Lents, SLS junior high language arts teacher; Jonathon Maple, OA business teacher; Kayla Pinckley, BIS fourth-grade teacher; Eric Stauffer, BHS/BMS band director; and Gail Streit, BPS special education teacher.

The winners were Maple, first place; Stauffer, second place; and Streit, third place.

First-place winners received an $800 technology budget for their classrooms and $100 in Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce gift certificates for   their personal use. Second-place winners were awarded a $400 technology budget and $75 in gift certificates. Third-place honorees received a $200 technology budget and $50 in gift certificates.

Also recognized for his contributions was George Junker, President of C.R.E.A.T.E. who was presented with an award to acknowledge his 20   years of dedication to the cause of providing technology for and implementing it in Batesville schools. Since 1994, C.R.E.A.T.E. has funded technology in education with over $2 million.

The foundation was established in 1994 by a group of local citizens and educators representing the Batesville Community Schools, St. Louis   School, and Oldenburg Academy. The goal of CREATE is to have a positive impact on our children by encouraging the integration of computer technology into the local school programs. The CREATE Foundation supports technology in the Batesville Schools through financial assistance, technical support and guidance.

Batesville Bulldogs logo