Loi sur les renseignements

2017-2018 Dates

ACT Dates ACT Registration Deadlines

Septembre 9, 2017 Août 4, 2017

Octobre 28, 2017 Septembre 22, 2017

Décembre 9, 2017 Novembre 3, 2017

Février 10, 2018 Janvier 12, 2018

Avril 14, 2018 Mars 9, 2018

Juin 9, 2018 Mai 4, 2018

Juillet 14, 2018 Juin 15, 2018

Batesville High School will be giving the ACT in Septembre et Avril!

Batesville High School Test Center Code: 205680

LOI Liens

ACT vs. SAT

https://www.princetonreview.com/college/sat-act

http://www.acethetest.com/ACT-SAT-content-comparison.html

L'ACT et SAT facteurs de réussite et les tendances d'admission

PRINCIPALES CONCLUSIONS
* Performance on the SAT and ACT has a significant impact on college admissions. Surveys of admissions officers show that SAT and ACT scores are typically the third-most important component of the college application, après AMP et la force de curriculum. Les résultats des tests sont particulièrement importants dans les établissements publics. Pourtant, il ya un mouvement grandissant de mettre moins l'accent sur les tests d'admission. Un nombre croissant d'institutions n'utilisent pas la Loi ou assis dans leur processus d'admission pour plusieurs ou tous les candidats de premier cycle, y compris un certain nombre d'institutions qui sont bien classés par Etats-Unis. Nouvelles and World Report.

* The strongest contributing factor to success on the SAT and ACT is a rigorous, high-quality high school core curriculum. Other factors are also associated with higher test scores, notamment les caractéristiques démographiques, tutorat, et les stratégies de test en prenant, mais la littérature est d'accord que la forte préparation académique est le meilleur fondement de la réussite sur le SAT et l'ACT.

* Along with success in rigorous, cours théoriques fondamentales, les étudiants doivent se familiariser avec les formats et le contenu essais. Une étude indique que la prise d'un test pratique de pleine longueur est utile pour les étudiants. Cependant, les enseignants devraient se concentrer sur les pratiques de classe qui sont associés à des scores plus élevés, comme d'ordre supérieur de résolution de problèmes, analyse, et de l'écriture, plutôt que des questions pratiques et les stratégies de test prenant qui ont été montrés pour avoir moins d'impact.

* There are some significant differences between the ACT and SAT in content and format. La Loi comprend une section de la science, essais connaissance de la trigonométrie, and has an optional writing section. The SAT’s writing section is mandatory, et le test doit mettre davantage l'accent sur le vocabulaire.

* Despite differences in content, le SAT et l'ACT sont considérés comparable par les responsables des admissions des collèges. Chaque collège accrédité aux États-Unis accepte les deux tests, et Hanovre recherche n'a trouvé aucune indication qu'un test est perçue plus favorablement que les autres. Presque 20 pour cent des responsables des admissions indiquent que la soumission des deux scores est un avantage lors de la décision d'admission.

* Though the SAT has had a greater market share historically, un peu plus d'étudiants pris l'acte de la SAT dans 2012. En 2010, étudiants inscrits dans les établissements et les institutions plus sélectifs avec des taux de rendement inférieurs plus souvent soumis la SAT, tandis que les étudiants des établissements et institutions moins sélectifs avec des taux de rendement plus élevés ont tendance à soumettre les résultats de l'ACT.

* Little research has been done on how teacher knowledge and mastery of assessment practices and question types affects test scores. Une étude a révélé que les écoles où les enseignants consacrent plus de temps pour préparer de test in-class rapporté la réussite des élèves inférieur à la LOI. Comme indiqué ci-dessus, la littérature indique que les enseignants devraient examiner les informations de base sur la structure de test et peut-être administrer un examen pratique, mais les efforts doivent se concentrer sur le soutien à la réussite des élèves par un enseignement rigoureux dans les classes de base.


Phil Partenheimer, Ed.D.
Directeur exécutif
Wilson Education Center

ACT Information

2016-2017 Dates

  ACT Dates                   ACT Registration Deadlines

September 10, 2016        August 5, 2016

October 22, 2016                  September 16, 2016

December 10, 2016              November 4, 2016

February 11, 2017                 January 13, 2017

April 8, 2017                      March 3, 2017

June 10, 2017                        May 5, 2017

Batesville High School will be giving the ACT in September and April!

Batesville High School Test Center Code:  205680

ACT Links

ACT College Readiness Benchmark Scores

College English Composition – 18 on ACT English Test

College Algebra – 22 on ACT Math Test

College Social Sciences – 22 on ACT Reading Test

College Biology – 23 on ACT Science Test

The ACT and SAT Success Factors and Admission Trends

KEY FINDINGS
*  Performance on the SAT and ACT has a significant impact on college admissions.  Surveys of admissions officers show that SAT and ACT scores are typically the third-most important component of the college application, after GPA and strength of curriculum. Test scores are particularly important at public institutions. Nevertheless, there is a growing movement to place less emphasis on admissions tests. An increasing number of institutions do not use the ACT or SAT in their admissions process for many or all undergraduate applicants, including a number of institutions that are highly ranked by U.S. News and World Report.
 
*   The strongest contributing factor to success on the SAT and ACT is a rigorous, high-quality high school core curriculum.  Other factors are also associated with higher test scores, including demographic characteristics, tutoring, and test-taking strategies, but the literature agrees that strong academic preparation is the best foundation for success on the SAT and ACT.
 
*   Along with success in rigorous, core academic courses, students should familiarize themselves with test formats and content. One study indicates that taking a full-length practice test is helpful to students. However, teachers should focus on classroom practices that are associated with higher scores, such as higher-order problem-solving, analysis, and writing skills, rather than practice questions and test-taking strategies which have been shown to have less impact.
 
*   There are some significant differences between the ACT and SAT in content and format. The ACT includes a science section, tests knowledge of trigonometry, and has an optional writing section.  The SAT’s writing section is mandatory, and the test has a stronger emphasis on vocabulary. 
 
*   Despite differences in content, the SAT and ACT are viewed comparably by college admissions officers. Every accredited college in the United States accepts both tests, and Hanover Research found no indication that one test is viewed more favorably than the other. Nearly 20 percent of admissions officers indicate that submitting both scores is an advantage during the admission decision.
 
*  Though the SAT has had a greater market share historically, slightly more students took the ACT than the SAT in 2012. In 2010, students who enrolled at more selective institutions and institutions with lower yield rates more often submitted the SAT, while students at less selective institutions and institutions with higher yield rates tended to submit ACT scores.
 
*  Little research has been done on how teacher knowledge and mastery of assessment practices and question types affects test scores. One study found that schools where teachers dedicated more time to in-class test prep reported lower student achievement on the ACT. As indicated above, the literature indicates that teachers should review basic information about test structure and perhaps administer a practice exam, but efforts should be focused on supporting student achievement through rigorous instruction in core classes.

 
Phil Partenheimer, Ed.D.
Executive Director
Wilson Education Center